Perseverance

Of course I have millions of memories, just like everyone else. I have many happy ones as a child, as a daughter, as a sister, and as a nurse.  But I am planning on sharing a not so happy one because I am taking a look back on my life and answering the question “how did I get here?’

It’s crazy how you can remember some memories better than others.  And some things I can’t remember at all.  I know that not remembering has been one way God has protected me from pain.  I can keep someone alive for 12 plus hours on my shift,  walk out of the hospital doors, and never think of that person again.  That sounds so cold-hearted.  But in reality that’s a gift from God so I can give my whole heart and my whole being to my next patient, your loved one, or my loved one.  I can come home and carry on with life as mom, a wife. I put the same amount of energy, prayer, comfort, and care into every person I lay my hands on as a nurse.

The things I see will change the way you view the world.  Just like my selfless husband. He deals with way worse situations, on a more regular basis as a paramedic than even I can imagine.  I tell him “You see things that no one should have to see.”

As a critical care/flight nurse I have seen much suffering, grief, sorrow, hopelessness, sadness.  I have held the hand of a 19-year-old as we disconnected him from life support.  I was the only person at his bedside when his heart stopped beating. I have seen unimaginable suffering when we prolong someone’s life with drugs and life support; they weep from every pore, the smell of death seeping out of their skin.  I have looked into many fearful eyes begging me for help.  They don’t have to say a word but their eyes say it all, it pierces your soul.

How do you do that day after day, you ask?  How do I keep my faith?  How do I have such confidence in the future?  It can be summed up in one word……perseverance. I am going to share a personal story that made me question God for the first time.  And without perserverence I would not be where I am today.  It was my first lesson that our worst times must also be times when our faith is strongest.  That moment came before I was a nurse. There was an extended period in my life that I learned greatly about continuing to achieve despite difficulties.  To hold on…God has a plan…dispite setbacks and failures.  Perseverance, like I had never known before, or I have experienced since then. I consider it one of the experiences that has sculpted me into who I am today.

Therefore, do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward.  For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God, you may receive what was promised.” Hebrews 10:35-36

Perseverance to be continued…..

Perseverance Persistence_Wallpaper_by_hellhoundp2ku-1024x819


3 thoughts on “Perseverance

  1. That is so promising that the Lord in his wisdom listens to our and saves us without qestion. Yet we question why we are worthy to be saved! In your endurance and perserverance the Lord showed clearly and without question! May the Lord continue to bless you and your precious family! Love you Lezley!

    Like

Leave a comment